SCIJ Canada

  • English
  • French
Welcome to Alberta!
PDF Print E-mail

Dear SCIJ Members,

The World’s Finest National Park is ready for you!

I’m always surprised at the awe-struck reactions of first time travelers when they lay eyes on the peaks of the Rocky Mountains. This was again the case when members of the International Committee of the Ski Club of International Journalists (SCIJ) made the journey west to Alberta this past summer. 

The Banff Lake Louise region is a series of stunning and majestic mountain peaks that rise from the edge of Canada’s prairies to form breathtaking scenery where wildlife and people cohabit in an environment unparalleled anywhere in the world. 

With great excitement SCIJ Canada, in collaboration with its many partners, Travel Alberta, Banff Lake Louise Tourism and Ski Big 3, invites you to the world’s finest National Park to experience this inspiringly beautiful backdrop during the 58th SCIJ meeting in Banff Lake Louise, Alberta, Canada from February 5th to 12th, 2011.

The return of SCIJ to Canadian snow marks the culmination of a long team journey following the international meetings in Québec (1995) and Banff (1963). Banff is the birthplace of tourism in Canada and home of Banff National Park the first and still the largest national park in Canada. The park is also a designated UNESCO World Heritage site.

The organizing committee has also taken your survey feedback into consideration and produced one of the fullest and most ambitious SCIJ programs in recent history. Throughout the week, you will be introduced to extra-ordinary individuals in a world class setting.

Not only will you learn about the important pioneering role of Swiss mountain guides in the area, but you’ll fast-forward to 2011 and discover why more than 3 million people visit this region annually. You will meet modern day alpine adventurers, sample the diverse mountain culture, and experience the massive and modern ski operations. 

Enjoy the state-of-the-art five-star facilities, starting with the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel – a crown jewel surrounded by a pristine mountainscape. SCIJ members will ski at Lake Louise, the Rockies’ biggest ski resort and host to men’s and women’s FIS World Cup races. Participants will discover Sunshine Village and the famous Delirium Dive and Goat’s Eye runs.

At Mount Norquay, you’ll experience the raw adrenaline of high-speed competition at the resort which serves as one of the main downhill training facilities for Canada’s World Cup skiers. The Nordic competition will take place in the shadow of one of the most photographed mountains, The Three Sisters at Canmore Nordic Centre, site of the 1988 Winter Olympics cross-country and biathlon events. 

The action-packed program is rounded out with a spectacular pre and post tour program, with the chance to explore other incredible parts of the province like Calgary, Edmonton, Jasper and Kananaskis.  In addition, special workshops have been organized to highlight the exquisite cultural and culinary aspects of this area, complete with ice walks. A special panel will discuss and debate the future of journalism in North America.

This year, a new modernized web platform www.scij.ca is replacing the traditional registration process. You are strongly encouraged to acquaint yourself with the website's procedures prior to registering. It is designed to be a better, faster and smarter way to help you keep track of your schedule. All of the meeting information is listed on the website and will be updated regularly.

So, bring the World’s Finest National Park to life and into the living rooms of the millions of readers, listeners and viewers in your country. Extraordinary adventures, a diversity of characters, and compelling stories are all here waiting for SCIJ to discover.

On behalf of the organizing committee for the 58th meeting of SCIJ in Banff Lake Louise, we look forward to hosting you February 5th to 12th, 2011 at this remarkable part of the world. We promise you’ll be just as amazed as from the moment you set your foot in Canada.

 

Frederick Wallace
President
SCIJ Canada

Organizing Committee

Claude Desbiens
Vice President, Communications
SCIJ Canada

Andrée Ducharme
Vice President, Recruitement and Logistics
SCIJ Canada

Mario Proulx
Secretary-Treasurer
SCIJ Canada

Noelle Aune
Executive Director, Public Relations, Media and Events
Travel Alberta

Kurt Schroeder
Director, Marketing and Communications
Banff Lake Louise Tourism

Dan Markham
Director, Marketing & Sales
Ski Banff, Lake Louise, Sunshine

Our SCIJ Partners

SCIJ

Alberta Travel

Banff

Ski Big 3

SCIJ Canada

  • Anglais
  • Français
Bienvenue en Alberta !
PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Chers membres du SCIJ,

Le plus beau Parc National du monde est prêt à vous accueillir.

Je suis toujours surpris des réactions de stupéfaction des voyageurs lorsqu’ils posent leurs yeux pour la première fois sur les sommets des Montagnes Rocheuses. Ce fut encore le cas lorsque les membres du Comité international du SCIJ  ont fait un voyage dans l’ouest de l’Alberta, l’été dernier.

La région de Banff Lac Louise est dotée d’une série de sommets de montagnes majestueux et fantastiques qui se dresse à partir des prairies canadiennes pour former un paysage époustouflant où cohabitent dans un environnement unique au monde la faune sauvage et les humains. 

C’est avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme que le SCIJ Canada, en collaboration avec ses partenaires, Travel Alberta, Banff Lake Louise Tourism et Ski Big 3 vous invite à vivre l’expérience avec comme toile de fond inspirante le plus beau Parc national du monde à l’occasion de la 58ième rencontre internationale du SCIJ à Banff Lac Louise du 5 au 12 février 2011.

Le retour du SCIJ dans la neige canadienne marque le point culminant d’un très long voyage d’équipe après les rencontres internationales de Québec (1995 ) et Banff (1963 ). Banff est le berceau du tourisme au Canada et en premier lieu le foyer du Parc National qui est  encore le plus grand parc national du Canada. Le parc fait aussi partie du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

Le comité organisateur a également pris en grande considération vos réactions obtenues lors d’une enquête et a donc préparé l’un des programmes les plus enrichissants  et productifs dans l’histoire récente du SCIJ. Durant toute la semaine, vous aurez l’occasion de rencontrer des personnalités de très haut niveau.

Non seulement vous connaissez le rôle important de pionnier des guides suisses de montagnes dans les Alpes, mais vous aurez certainement hâte de découvrir pourquoi plus de 3 millions de personnes visitent chaque année cette région. Vous rencontrerez des aventuriers de montagnes d’aujourd’hui, vous vivrez l’expérience de diverses cultures de même que celle des centres de skis avec leur fonctionnement moderne. 

Appréciez les arts locaux et les facilités 5 étoiles en commençant avec l’hôtel Fairmont Banff Springs – un joyau de la couronne entouré par de parfaits pics montagneux. Les membres du SCIJ iront skier à Lac Louise, la plus grosse station des Rocheuses  et hôte des compétitions masculines et féminines de la Coupe du monde  de la Fédération internationale du ski. Les participants pourront découvrir également le village de Sunshine et le fameux Delirium Dive et le versant Goat’s Eye. 

Au Mont Norquay, vous allez vivre l’adrénaline pure d’une compétition de  très haute vitesse  en skiant à cette station qui sert  comme l’une des principales pistes d’entraînement de descente des skieurs canadiens de la Coupe du Monde. La compétition de ski de fond se déroulera à l’ombre de l’une des montagnes les plus photographiées, Les 3 Sœurs du Centre nordique Canmore, le site des Jeux Olympiques d’Hiver de 1988.

Ce programme d’action bien rempli a été bonifié avec la mise sur pied de programmes pré et post tours spectaculaires qui permettront d’explorer d’autres parties fantastiques de la province comme Calgary, Edmonton, Jasper et Kananaskis. En plus, des ateliers de travail  ont été organisés pour souligner le raffinement  culturel et culinaire de la région avec une promenade sur le glacier. Un panel spécial de journalistes discutera et débattra de l’avenir du journalisme en Amérique du Nord.   

Cette année, une nouvelle plateforme internet moderne  www.scij.ca  remplace la procédure traditionnelle d’enregistrement  et vous êtes fortement encouragés à vous familiariser avec la procédure avant de vous enregistrer. Le site internet a été construit de façon à  mieux vous aider rapidement  simplement afin d’aménager votre programme. Toute l’information de la rencontre est indiquée sur le site internet et continuera  d’être mise à jour sur une base régulière.

Apportez la vie du plus beau Parc National du monde dans les salons de millions de lecteurs et téléspectateurs de vos pays. Des aventures extraordinaires, des peuples divers et des histoires envoûtantes sont toutes ici en attente que le SCIJ les découvre.

Au nom du comité organisateur de la 58ième rencontre du SCIJ à Banff Lac Louise, nous sommes impatients d’être vos hôtes du 5 au 12 février, 2011 à cet endroit remarquable. Nous vous faisons la promesse que vous serez comme stupéfait dès le moment où vous mettrez votre pied en terre canadienne.

 

Frederick Wallace
Président
SCIJ Canada

Comité organisateur

Claude Desbiens
Vice-Président, Communications,
SCIJ Canada

Andrée Ducharme
Vice-Présidente, Recrutement et logistique,
SCIJ Canada

Mario Proulx
Secrétaire-trésorier,
SCIJ Canada

Noelle Aune
Executive Director, Public Relations, Media and Events
Travel Alberta

Kurt Schroeder
Director, Marketing and Communications
Banff Lake Louise Tourism

Dan Markham
Director, Marketing & Sales
Ski Banff, Lake Louise, Sunshine

Nos partenaires SCIJ

SCIJ

Alberta Travel

Banff

Ski Big 3