SCIJ Canada

  • English
  • French


to the Ski-Club of International Journalists

bg1.jpg
Recruitment Campaign
PDF Print E-mail

For more than 40 years, an international organization has brought together thousands of professional journalists from over thirty countries. With skiing as a common interest, networks have been forming from east to west, and north to south.

Based in Lausanne and created in the midst of the Cold War, the organization's objective, as stated in article 1 of the statutes, is to "create and develop human and friendly links among national and regional press colleagues, without political, language or national boundaries".

From the contacts established at the clubs' national meetings (where participants throughout the world are often invited) or the annual international meeting, Bulgarians, Polish or Romanian journalists have found help and assistance through their colleagues from the West, like finding american financing to buy the new press for Romana Libera.

SCIJ meetings give journalists a chance to exchange ideas and perceptions, at lunch or on a ski slope with either a Russian television director or Parisian Quotidien du peuple Peking correspondent or the chief of the Associated Press bureau in Rome, or the person responsible for 24 heures de Lausanne's cultural pages or the Figaro's movie critic, or a Jerusalem Post journalist, or Swedish television energy specialist, or the person in charge of news briefs at a weekly in Haute-Silésie. Contacts can become invaluable when reporting in foreign countries, where SCIJ members are often ready to give a helping hand, known as "friendly links", established in the statutes.

The Canadian section of the SCIJ hosted the 1995 SCIJ's annual meeting in Quebec, bringing together 250 international journalists. The meeting, which took place on the slopes of the Quebec city region, was last held in Canada in 1963 in Banff, Alberta.

This invitation to foreign colleagues, the majority being general information journalists, gives a unique opportunity to present to international press members, on a "one on one" basis, the reality
of your country. International meetings, which normally last a week, give the opportunity to interact and participate in three friendly ski competitions (some take them seriously, others don't), but are also punctuated with panels on various general interest subjects, or press conferences with local personalities (Antonio Samaranch, president of the IOC, at the Switzerland meeting in ‘91, Gary Hart in Colorado in ‘92, the Toyota president, in Japan in ‘90). A second week is available for those who wish to stay on and try other resorts or report on tourism, economics, political or other issues.

For many years, the Canadian section of the SCIJ, like others in the world, was based on a simple network of acquaintances randomly developped through meetings. Since 1992, the executive committee was given the mandate to make the club accessible to all interested journalists, making it a more vital and dynamic organization.

Our objective is to recruit a maximum number of new members in all regions of the country and to organize several meetings bringing together new and long standing members during weekend get togethers. We would like future meetings to become an opportunity for journalists from different countries can meet and exchange ideas outside the workplace. These meetings would involve foreign and local guests. Panels and debates would be organized, and a speaker would be invited.

Conditions to become a member are simple: you must be a professional full-time journalist, salaried or freelance, or an electronic or media manager. Employees of public relations and association newsletters are not admissible. The executive committee will rule if a questionable case shall arise. An annual fee must be paid. And, of course, members must love skiing, discussing, the world, having a good time and snow!

Everyone is welcome, but we would particularly like to extend our invitation to journalists from everywhere in Canada who have a specific ski experience (former ski instructors for example), organizational skills, good knowledge of the ski milieu, etc.

SCIJ Canada

  • Anglais
  • Français

Bienvenue !
au Ski-Club International des Journalistes

bg5.jpg
Campagne de recrutement
PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Depuis plus de 40 ans, il existe une organisation internationale qui regroupe plusieurs milliers de journalistes d'une trentaine de pays. Sous le sympathique prétexte de faire du ski, elle tisse des liens entre l'est et l'ouest et, de plus en plus, entre le nord et le sud.

Basée à Lausanne et créée en pleine guerre froide, l'organisation a pour but, selon l'article premier de ses statuts, « de susciter et de développer des liens humains et amicaux entre confrères de la presse internationale, et cela en dehors de toute considération politique ou de nationalité ».

À partir des contacts établis lors des rencontres nationales des clubs (où des participants d'autres pays sont souvent invités) ou de la rencontre internationale annuelle, des journalistes bulgares, polonais ou roumains ont pu trouver aide et assistance chez des collègues de l'Ouest, et - haut fait ! - un financement américain fut trouvé pour acheter la nouvelle presse de Romana Libera.

Plus prosaïquement, les rencontres du SCIJ permettent aux journalistes d'échanger des idées et des perceptions, au lunch ou sur le remonte-pente avec, tantôt un cadre de la télévision russe, tantôt le correspondant parisien du Quotidien du peuple de Pékin, ou le chef du bureau d'Associated Press de Rome, ou la responsable des pages culturelles des 24 heures de Lausanne, ou la critique de cinéma du Figaro, ou une journaliste du Jerusalem Post, ou la spécialiste énergie de la télé suédoise, ou le responsable de faits divers d'un hebdo régional de Haute-Silésie. Contacts qui peuvent devenir inestimables lors de reportages à l'étranger, où des membres locaux du SCIJ sont souvent prêts à donner un coup de main au correspondant de passage. C'est le principe de « l'amicale assistance », tel qu'établi dans les statuts.

La section canadienne du SCIJ était hôte au Québec au printemps 1995, de la rencontre annuelle du SCIJ et de ses 250 journalistes internationaux. La rencontre avait lieu sur les pentes de la région de Québec. La section canadienne avait reçu sa toute première rencontre en 1963, à Banff en Alberta.

Cette invitation de collègues étrangers, en majorité des journalistes d'information générale, est une occasion en or de représenter de visu et de vive voix à la presse internationale la réalité de notre pays telle qu'elle est, au-delà de son image. Les rencontres internationales, qui durent une semaine, sont surtout l'occasion d'échanges et de trois amicales compétitions de ski (certains les prennent au sérieux, d'autres pas), mais elles sont aussi ponctuées de tables rondes sur des sujets d'intérêt général, ou de conférences de presse de personnalités locales (Antonio Samaranch, président du CIO, lors de la rencontre en Suisse en 1991, Gary Hart au Colorado en 1992, le président de Toyota au Japon en 1990). Une seconde semaine est organisée pour ceux qui le désirent et des parcours dans d'autres stations de ski ou des occasions de reportages touristiques, économiques, politiques ou autres sont offertes.

La section canadienne du SCIJ, comme plusieurs autres dans le monde, a longtemps fonctionné à la bonne franquette et sur la base d'un réseau de connaissances constitué au hasard de rencontres. Depuis 1992, l'exécutif a eu le mandat d'ouvrir largement le club à tous les journalistes intéressés et d'en faire une véritable organisation, active et dynamique.

Notre objectif est de recruter un maximum de nouveaux membres de toutes les régions du pays et d'organiser plusieurs rencontres des anciens et nouveaux membres cet hiver. Nous voudrions que les rencontres et celles qui suivront, deviennent un rendez-vous où les journalistes de différentes régions pourront se connaître et échanger hors du cadre de travail. Des invités étrangers ou locaux, une table ronde, un débat pourraient être organisés, un conférencier pourrait être convié.

Les conditions pour adhérer sont simples : il faut être journaliste professionnel à plein temps, salarié ou pigiste, ou cadre d'information appartenant à la presse d'information écrite ou audiovisuelle. Les employés de journaux d'entreprises ou d'associations ne sont pas admissibles. L'exécutif statuera dans les cas limites. Il faut verser sa cotisation annuelle. Il faut bien sûr aimer le ski, la discussion, la planète, la rigolade et la neige.

Tous sont invités, mais nous lançons un appel particulier aux journalistes de toutes les régions du pays, à ceux qui ont une expérience de ski particulière (anciens moniteurs, par exemple), qui ont des talents d'organisation, de bonnes connaissances dans le milieu du ski.